top of page

A very Vegan experience


So, when Joanne from Love Pop Up London, ran a competition to give a vegan brunch menu a trial, I wasn't too sure if that was my thing considering that I am that one person who if they haven't eaten meat for the day, I feel really hungry. So, when a fellow blogger invited me to join her following her competition win, I was very intrigued, having recently been converted by Mildred's another vegetarian restaurant, that vegetarian food isn't just grilled mushrooms!

So here comes the Omni Collective, brunch experience, so I may hear some of you think that are they the same people from Pesky's? The answers my friend is YES! So if you are familiar with Pesky's then you would have already met Jess and George. If not let me introduce them to you, Jess a vegetarian recent turned vegan together with her partner George decided to quit their respective jobs in the city to open up restaurant pop up serving food they love to eat and cook. So why the change of name? let me tell you.... When Jess and George first started Pesky's this was because as vegetarians they would still eat some seafood and fish, hence Pestiterian = Pesky, however they realised that actually they didn't really eat that many seafood, so the name Pesky no longer served it's purpose with the pair. So behold, The Omni Collective was born!

Ok, ok, I know some of you are shouting get on with food part Jojo! Hold your horses, its coming! The brunch menu they do are a three course meal together with two alcoholic drinks- for those non drinkers, the drinks can be made virgin so please no panic! I can't deal with that right now... The brunch if pre booked would cost you £22.00 however they do welcome passer by's which will be £25.00 each. However based on where they are, the Yard, behind the Yard Theatre in Hackney Wick is a place that unless you are in the know, you might miss it so I do wonder how people may just decide to turn up?

So what did the £22.00 brunch get you? well it is a set menu of three courses and the menu varies depending on the city it is themed after, today's brunch was Mexico, so even the drinks reflect this, so drinks where A Bloody Maria (why Maria, cause a Mary has worcester sauce which unfortunately was not vegan!), Mimosa, and a Margarita. For starters we had grilled mango's served with salsa en polvo, next up was Taquitos with salsa verde, guacamole,twiced cooked beans and coriander cream, ending the meal with churros, served with a blueberry compot, which really helps draw the meal to a close.

I must say that the servers were very pleasant and the atmosphere, very hip, however as bloggers, pictures were hard and we had to keep going outside to get better lighting, I guess we can't win everything! The only comments I have would be the time we had to wait in between courses, after our plates were taken away we had to wait over 30 minutes before our main were served, note there was only two other tables at the same time, and in total they were cooking for 8 people in the restaurant. I would hate to imagine how long I would have to wait if the restaurant was full??

I conclude to say, that I would definitely consider more vegetarian and vegan options, as there are lots more options available and the flavours really hit home for me..so watch out for more restaurant reviews..

A Bloody Maria and Mimosa

Taquitos
Churros

bottom of page